beans: saxy’s


I like Saxy’s Cafe. I like it a lot. Great location on 10th St between Pearl and Spruce leaves you lots of options after you’ve had your caffeine.  Hanging out at Saxy’s is like hanging out at someone’s house. Someone who has a really expensive espresso machine and will use it to make you whatever you want to drink.  Today it’s an americano for me. For here, because one of my favorite people is coming, and we’re going to hang.

(This americano was so pretty I had to take two pictures of it)

And oh happy day, the former occupant of this couch, where I really wanted to sit, just vacated.

If you’re not here to lounge around with one of your besties, you might prefer the high, paramecium-shaped table in the middle of the room, the preferred seating area for those with laptops and possibly work to do.  And there is an outlet under the table next to every chair.  They also have a few tables outside if you’d rather soak in the sun and watch the people go by while enjoying your cafe…


(Beautiful day to sit outside….near this strangely phallic umbrella. There, I said it)

Saxy’s has lots of coffee options. And teas. A great selection of “Two Leaves and a Bud” teas, the ones with the fancy, silky tea bags. And two chais, bhakti and third street, both caffeinated and decaf. Which I guess means they offer four kinds of chai.

If you get hungry during your visit to Saxy’s, you’ve got a lot of great choices. They have all the standard pastries, croissants, bagels and muffins you’d expect. They also have some things you may not expect, such as egg sandwiches and breakfast paninis, made and grilled to order. If it’s closer to lunchtime, they have a host of other creative paninis you might enjoy and salads, too! They’ll also make you a smoothie. I might go tomorrow for breakfast. And stay for lunch.

Like many coffee shops in town, Saxy’s features the work of local artists.  Sidekick C…..the original sidekick from long before the blog…and I loved the featured artist, Jennifer Shephard. Her stuff is colorful, quirky, creative and fun. And very reasonably priced in case you want to take one of her works home with you.  My favorites

(It’s even called “Say Anything.”  If you’re not getting this, rent the movie. It’s so good.  At least it was in 1989. It might be time to put this one in my Netflix queue)

(And I love this one, too! He’s called “Frustration” and I might have to buy it, so next time I am freaking out I’ll look at it and it’ll make me smile)

There are a lot more tiles, all great. Get to Saxy’s and check them out.

(Great work, Jennifer!)

This morning I had a great coffee with a great friend under the tin ceiling and funky chandeliers at Saxy’s. Sidekick C and I have been like nomads wandering Boulder without a “place” the last few months.  We used to work out at the same gym and see each other almost every day. And we’d even get coffee sometimes on our way to or from the gym. We also got together every Thursday night for tequila and dance. C and I need a “place.”

Saxy’s might well be it!

I think Saxy’s is so great, I’m going to give them a pass for the interminable Doors playing in the cafe.  I know a lot of people like the Doors, and Sidekick C says it brought her right back to the eighth grade. Not so for me.

Had Saxy’s chosen Pink Floyd…..

Facebook friends, you can stop reading now. You all know about the resurrection of my love for 1973 Dave Gilmour, brought on by the cover story of the most recent Rolling Stone. The article chronicled the creation of “The Dark Side of the Moon” and how it doomed The Floyd.  After reading it, I was inspired to watch “The Making of Dark Side of the Moon,” and now I can’t stop listening to the album. I won’t be right for weeks. Dave was young and beautiful, and the coolest rock star on the planet.

“For long you’ll live and high you’ll fly. The smiles you’ll give and tears you’ll cry. For all you touch and all you see is all your life will ever be.” My senior quote in high school and still one of my favorites.

Lyrics by Waters. Delivered with smooth by Gilmour.

Thanks, Floyd.

8 comments
  1. Joanna said:

    Kathy! Your umbrella photo is so NSFW. Also, yes – David Gilmour was seriously hot back then. Wish I were close enough to have a coffee with you at Saxy’s.

    • Hahaha!! I didn’t want people to see it and think it and imagine I didn’t see it and think the same thing! Come to Boulder, Jo! I’ll treat!

  2. Patsy said:

    I know a rock star named Eric that is probably pretty deflated right now after reading this blog.

    • Yeah, well EC doesn’t need me to give him daily affirmations, though maybe I should call him, as I am certain he’s reading….. And he’s cool, just not as cool as Dave.
      I had to find some way to forget about Eddie after our big falling out……Good God, I am a sucker for the brooding, blue eyed rock stars….

  3. Cynthia said:

    I like being referred to as “the original sidekick from long before the blog…” I feel so important and less nomadic! Love you beans and suds.

  4. flubs said:

    Nice use of “paramecium.” You just don’t see that word enough in everyday life. Keep ’em coming!

    • I wanted to use amoeba, but it really wasn’t appropo

Leave a comment